Skip to main content

The John Legoe Award

Launched in 2006, and named after the late Kingston Mayor and former LGA President, the John Legoe Award was set up to recognise Elected Members who demonstrate a commitment to personal development, as well a passion for serving their councils and communities over an extended period of time.

Over the past decade this award has recognised the contributions made by many hard working and passionate Elected Members.

However, in recognition of the declining number of entries, and changing  landscape of local government in SA, we have - in consultation with John’s wife Gayle - decided that the 2015/16 John Legoe Award was the last.

John Legoe Award Recipients


John Legoe Award Winner: Major Ray Agnew OAM (Yorke Peninsula) 


John Legoe Award Winner: Cr Garth Palmer (West Torrens) 


John Legoe Award Winner: Cr Peter Solomon (Port Augusta)

Encouragement Award: Cr Carol Martin (Port Adelaide Enfield) 


John Legoe Award Winner: Mayor Jayne Bates (Kangaroo Island)

Encouragement Award: Mayor Erika Vickery (Naracoorte Lucindale) 


John Legoe Award Winner: Cr John Ross AM, (Tatiara)

John Legoe Award Winner: Cr David Plumridge AM, (Adelaide)

Encouragement Award: Mayor Julie Low, (Lower Eyre Peninsula)


John Legoe Award Winner: Mayor Brian Hurn OAM (Barossa)

Encouragement Award: Cr Jill Whittaker (Campbelltown)


The John Legoe Award was presented to three recipients at the Discover! 2010 Local Government Showcase Dinner on Thursday 22 April 2010.  The recipients were:

  • Mayor Joy Baluch AM, Port Augusta City Council - Winner
  • Mayor Paul Thomas, District Council of the Copper Coast - Certificate of Recognition
  • Cr Jane Muras, Campbelltown City Council - Encouragement Award    


The John Legoe Award was presented to two recipents at the 2009 LGA Nation Building: the Local Foundations Conference Dinner on 23 April 2009.  The recipients were Mayor James Maitland from Wakefield Regional Council, and Cr George Demetriou from the City of West Torrens.   


The John Legoe Award was presented to Mayor Felicity-ann Lewis from the City of Marion, at the Local Government Showcase Dinner on Thursday 1 May 2008. 


The 2006 Inaugural Winner of the John Legoe Award was Mayor Kym McHugh from the Alexandrina Council.  An Encouragement Award was also presented to Cr Glenn Docherty from the City of Playford.  Both awards were presented at the 2007 LGA Community Renewal, Community Sustainability Conference Dinner on Thursday 12 April 2007.

Latest NewsView All

EventsView All

Back to top