Skip to main content

The Joy Baluch Award

The Joy Baluch Award, launched at the 2014 LGA Ordinary General Meeting and Showcase honours the late (Nancy) Joy Baluch AM, former President of the LGA and Mayor of Port Augusta. This annual award was established to recognise the contributions of women currently serving as Elected Members of South Australian Councils.

The implementation of the inaugural Joy Baluch Award for Women in Local Government faced a few difficulties relating to the timing of the award being during the 2014 Local Government Election period.  As a result of concerns raised re the timing, award criteria, eligibility and nomination process, further consultation occurred in order to better align the intent of the Award with the wishes of the sector.  The LGA Executive Committee also resolved to defer the Award until the April 2015 OGM.  With a review conducted, the Award was announced at the April Ordinary General Meeting event with a call for nominations for 2014/15.

2016/17 Joy Baluch Award

Nominations for the 2016/17 Joy Baluch Award are now open.

For a copy of the flyer please click here and the nomination form please click here.

Key dates  
Nominations open Thursday 16 November 2017
Nominations close

COB Friday 2 March 2018

Please email to

Judging panel meets March 2018
Winner announced 12 April 2018 at the Showcase and OGM Dinner


For further information please contact Rebecca Wake on 8224 2047 or


Joy Baluch Award Recipients


The Joy Baluch Award was presented to:

  • Cr Betty Gill, City of Salisbury


The Joy Baluch Award was presented to:

  • Cr Carol Martin, City of Port Adelaide Enfield

Latest NewsView All

EventsView All

Back to top